Skip to main content

Scholarship Program

Annual Awards

The Grove Farm Scholars Program is one of the largest scholarships within the State of Hawaiʻi. This merit-based scholarship is offered to local high school seniors graduating from one of Kauaʻi's three public high schools -- Kapa’a High, Kaua’i High, or Waimea High -- who will be attending a four-year university or college.  Each year, three scholarships are awarded, each valued at $20,000.  Since the program's inception, Grove Farm has awarded $600,000 in scholarships.

Grove Farm Scholarship Criteria

To be selected as a Grove Farm Scholar, students are evaluated on their excellence in community service, citizenship, academic accomplishments, and quality of character. In order to maintain their scholarship, each Scholar is required to do ongoing community service work on an annual basis.

Students interested in applying may download the Grove Farm Scholarship criteria and application in the links below. Questions should be directed to your school’s counselor. 

The application deadline for the Class of 2020 is  Friday, February 21, 2020.  Please be aware that all applications must be fully completed in order to be reviewed and must be  turned in directly to the high school counseling office  by the deadline.

Downloadable Forms:
2020 Scholarship Criteria
Scholarship Selection Matrix
2020 Scholarship Application

Grove Farm Scholars

2019 Grove Farm Scholars

Samantha Bostick

Samantha Bostick is the daughter of Stephanie and JJ Bostick. She plans to attend Colorado State University to study Journalism and Communications. Samantha is a well-rounded leader having served as Class President all four years, currently serving as Battalion Commander for the Menehune JROTC, Band Club President, and KIF Representative for the HHSAA. She enjoys running and has competed with the Cross Country team, which has been one highlight of her high school career, but expressed her passion for writing as a form of capturing the life stories of those around her. She is eager to begin her studies and meet new people.

Mayumi Fulgencio

Mayumi Fulgencio is the daughter of Bessie and Teresito Fulgencio, both immigrants from the Philippines. She hopes to attend Lewis and Clark College in Oregon to pursue a degree in Environmental Studies. Mayumi is passionate about reversing the effects of the human footprint on the environment. She was awarded a KUPU grant for the Hawaii Youth Sustainability Challenge for her ‘Zero Waste Harvester’ project, which aims to reduce landfill waste on the island. Mayumi currently serves as President of both Nature and Sierra clubs as well as being a member of Student Council, Key Club, and National Honor Society. She is also an avid soccer player and expressed appreciation to Grove Farm for providing the irrigation for the Vidinha soccer fields. Mayumi is optimistic that she will be able to contribute to the sustainability of the island.

Juliana Tampus

Juliana Tampus is the daughter of Bridget and Shane Pope. She will be attending Vanguard University in Southern California and wants to become a Civil Engineer. Throughout high school, Juliana has proven to not only be a talented athlete, competing on the Cross County, Swimming, and Track & Field teams; but also, a bright student in the classroom. Her love for mathematics led her to take multiple college level math courses and identify Civil Engineering as her career path. Juliana is the president of the National Honor Society, ASB Vice President, as well as being a member of the Interact club and mentor through Big Brothers Big Sisters of America. She is a confident and competitive young woman who has a drive to succeed and give back to the island.

Mayumi Fulgencio

Lewis and Clark College in Oregon

Samantha Bostick

Colorado State University

Juliana Tampus

Vanguard University in Southern California

Kari-Makenna Correa

University of Nevada, Las Vegas

Zachary Safford

University of Notre Dame

Braden Kobayashi

Creighton University

Bailee Taeza

Pacific University

Geneva Dela Cruz

University of Hawaii at Manoa

Jacky Lin

Stanford University

Athena Abadilla

Barnard College of Columbia University

Meihong Lin

Emory University

Melia Okura

Brown University

Melia Takakusagi

University of Hawaii at Hilo

Kayla Ishida

United States Coast Guard Academy

Lauryn Flemming

The University of Missouri

Regina Miner

Point Loma Nazarene University

Casey Nakamura

Boston University

Lucas Gushikuma

University of Portland

Trevor McCracken

University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA)

Dawn Mones

California Polytechnic State University, SLO

John Medeiros

Oregon Tech

Travis Navarro

Fordham University – Rose Hill

Angelica Huyen Tran

University of Southern California

Lyle Nemeth

Cal Poly San Luis Obispo

David Ochoco

Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University, Prescott, AZ

Chas Okamoto

University of Hawaii at Manoa

Daisy Liberato

Creighton University

Abigail Iloreta

University of California at Los Angeles

Natasha Abadilla

Stanford University

Kiana Pigao

George Fox University